Plan 9 from Outer Space

[Movie’s opening lines]
Criswell: Greetings, my friend. We are all interested in the future, for that is where you and I are going to spend the rest of our lives. And remember my friend, future events such as these will affect you in the future. You are interested in the unknown… the mysterious. The unexplainable. That is why you are here. And now, for the first time, we are bringing to you, the full story of what happened on that fateful day. We are bringing you all the evidence, based only on the secret testimony, of the miserable souls, who survived this terrifying ordeal. The incidents, the places. My friend, we cannot keep this a secret any longer. Let us punish the guilty. Let us reward the innocent. My friend, can your heart stand the shocking facts of grave robbers from outer space?

I like old movies, especially the  really bad and  ridiculous ones. Even silent films are fun – if you don’t like the musical score, make your own! If you like the score and not the film, turn up the volume and do something else.

Yesterday I thought it was a good time as any to pillage my DVD collection (what’s left of it) and watch something grisly – what could be better than Ed Wood’s Plan 9 From Outer Space? (actually, I have seen much worse. Some of the newer films will easily put these classics to shame – no contest .)

In a nutshell (for those of you who don’t know the movie) – Aliens from outer space / our solar system try to warn Earth that mankind’s discoveries might lead to the destruction of the Universe. Having chosen to ignore the message (maybe us Earthlings didn’t understand the message?) the aliens send ships (dangling on strings) to resurrect the dead (Vampira, Bela Lugosi and Tor Johnson to start off with – how apt!) to wipe out humanity before they destroy us all. Being alien and deciding to take on Hollywood they get wiped out, which goes without saying.

You’ve probably noticed the screen shots, he he.

 

Mayday, today is Maid-day in my neck of the wood so if you’ll excuse us – we’ll be hitching a ride with the aliens in their stringed-UFOs and get out before she destroys my house – as she often does.

Have a great weekend!

28 thoughts on “Plan 9 from Outer Space

  1. I sometimes can’t bear to watch the old Sci Fi movies, yet I often love reading the books.

    A glass of wine to release inhibitions sometimes works, then the laughter is amazing.

    I sometimes wonder what we will think of current movies in 50 years time (oops I won’t be around for that)

    • Ooooh the golden age of science fiction! Trying so hard to find some books by L. Sprague de Camp but oh no – no one is letting go of them! You’d think by now they are ready for re-issue?

Come on...give me your best shot!

