Sunday afternoon…

Sunday afternoon, it’s cold and wet in Cape Town. As usual it’s my job to sort out dinner for us and the in-laws…we call it Columbo evening (although we are now busy watching The Saint) . For a very long time the in-laws disliked me. One Sunday night Columbo was on TV and we were invited to watch it with them. It freaked me out actually, what were they up to.  I offered to get the food together and it’s been the thing ever since. Either my cooking did the trick (maybe the like vegetarian fare?) or they finally caught on that I am not as bad as I appear to be. Not sure what tonight’s menu is going to be…but as usual, it’s going to be very last minute.

On the bright side, I got to read a lot today and found some delightful organic/harmful chemical free laundry detergent and fabric softener. Got to run and go to gym. The run was with other people, which I don’t really like. But because I have moments of being evil it was keep up with me or fall behind (as opposed to me falling in with their regime – they did, after all, decide to impose on me.)

I guess it’s time to raid the cupboards and see what dinner will be…at this stage any easy, last minute recipe suggestions would be appreciated 🙂 If not for today there is always next time.

34 thoughts on “Sunday afternoon…

    • Haha nothing to be sorry about AP! I settled on a green curry sauce with lots of veg and quinoa all cooked together. Not bad if I say so myself, next time more sauce though, lol

  1. For meals, find upmarket Woolworths, buy their better instant meals, microwave and serve imaginatively (smiley faces done in salads are good). Then pass throwaway comments about how long the preparation takes to do the dish properly, and how exactly the cooking times and temperatures need to be. Make sure the packaging will NOT accidentally be found in the kitchen bin by anyone present.

      • Yay, a new home! This one is getting kind of dull now. When they take me away though, lots of manhandling and NO needles, hope they get it right this time.

  2. Marco, I hope you were able to come up with quick, delicious dinner. That’s so nice of you to do that. I would absolutely love it if someone took care of dinner. I just started running again which has been great, and have been running with a friend. I know what you mean about running alone. That’s the way I usually do it. But, running with a friend has been so motivating. So on the bright side, I’m sure you were a great motivator for your running friends. 🙂

    • Hehe I’m not so sure about being the great motivator, lol but I tried. And yes running alone is better because you can set your pace and slow down if you feel like it. With other runners with you it has to be a group effort. On the bright side it was nice of them wanting to run with me to start of with me. Hehe I think I’m turning into a softie 🙂

Come on...give me your best shot!

